Here you can find information about how each tier of government works and, in particular, the relative services and responsibilities of parish, district and county councils. There is an explanation of the local electoral boundaries (which parish falls within which district ward and which county division) so that you can work out which councillors represent you. Links are provided to help you contact local government officers, councillors and MPs.

Click on one of these titles to find the section you want:


Local Government UK Government Relationship with the European Union


Parliament is separate from government:

UK Parliament


PC logo
HDC logo
WSCC logo


Different electoral boundaries apply for each layer of local government (see table below):

  • Parish Councillors represent Storrington & Sullington.  For neighbouring parishes see below.
  • District Councillors represent the Storrington & Washington Ward in Horsham District Council: Storrington & Sullington, and Washington.  The neighbouring parishes of Amberley and Parham are within the Pulborough, Coldwaltham & Amberley Ward of Horsham District Council. The neighbouring parishes of Ashington, Thakeham, West Chiltington and Wiston are within the West Chiltingon, Thakeham & Ashington Ward of Horsham District Council. (N.B. Horsham Electoral Changes Order 5 November 2017 in force as of election 2 May 2019)
  • The County Councillor represents the Storrington electoral division: Amberley, Ashington, Parham, Storrington & Sullington, Washington, Wiston. The parishes of Thakeham and West Chiltington are in the Pulborough electoral division
  • County Local Forums were established in September 2021 to provide residents with the opportunity to participate in discussions on issues specific to their area, as well as take part in question-and-answer sessions with their local County Councillors. The Forums were instituted when County Local Committees were abolished.
    There are seven County Local Forums in West Sussex that will be trialled for one year. Following this, the County Council’s Governance Committee will evaluate the success of the forums and determine the best mechanism for county councillors to engage with their communities going forward.
    Access your Local Forum page at the link below if you want to get involved, attend a meeting or ask a question.
Parish Councillors District Councillors County Councillor, Storrington County Councillor, Pulborough County Local Forum
Parish HDC Ward WSCC Electoral Division
Amberley Pulborough, Coldwaltham & Amberley Storrington
Ashington West Chiltington, Thakeham & Ashington Storrington
Parham Pulborough, Coldwaltham & Amberley Storrington
Storrington & Sullington Storrington & Washington Storrington
Thakeham West Chiltington, Thakeham & Ashington Pulborough
Washington Storrington & Washington Storrington
West Chiltington West Chiltington, Thakeham & Ashington Pulborough
Wiston West Chiltington, Thakeham & Ashington Storrington


Amberley Ashington Parham Thakeham Washington West Chiltington Wiston


post Brexit


The Electoral Commission provides information about local candidates and how to make sure you are correctly registered to vote.  All election results are posted by Horsham District Council.

Your Vote Matters
Election Results